2018 Orcas Island Events

Below is a list of many Orcas Island “Perennial” Events. We update it monthly, so check back often. The Chamber’s Weekly Email Blast lists upcoming events.

Be sure to check out the Community Calendar, a project of the Chamber of Commerce and the Orcas Island Public Library. For performing arts, the Orcas Center Online Calendar and Actors Theater Website are worth a visit.

2018

April

Saturday, April 7. Funhouse Science Fair at The Funhouse. Sponsor: The Funhouse Science Fair

Friday-Sunday, April 13-15. Orcas Island Literary Festival. Website

Saturday-Sunday, April 28-29, East Sound Spring Regatta, Orcas Island Yacht Club Regatta

Saturday, April 28. Bill Yarlott Fishing Derby at Cascade Lake Sponsor: Orcas Adventures. Recurs on 4th Saturday in April.

Saturday, April 28. Montessori School Carnival Auction. Sponsor: Montessori School

May

Saturdays, May 5 – Sept 29. Farmers Market in Eastsound on the Village Green; Saturdays, (10 am – 3 pm). October through November at Odd Fellows Hall; Saturdays, (11 am – 2 pm). Orcas Island Farmers Market

Saturday, May 5 (7:30 pm) and Sunday, May 6 (2:00 pm), Orcas Choral Society Concerts

Saturday, May 19, (3 pm-6 pm), Shindig Auction at Orcas Center. Sponsor: Orcas Island Historical Museums

Saturday, May 19. Steve Resch Memorial Golf Tournament. Sponsor: Orcas Island Golf

Saturday, May 26. Orcas Pet Parade in Eastsound. Sponsor: Kaleidoscope Daycare Center. Recurs on the 4th Saturday in May.

June

June (TBA). Martin Lund’s One World Music Festival at Orcas Center

Saturday, June 23. Solstice Parade Celebration in Eastsound; beginning at 12 noon

Saturday-Sunday, June 23-24. (11 am-5 pm) Orcas Island Garden Tour. Sponsor: Orcas Island Garden Club

Saturday, June 30 (6 pm – 9 pm). OPAL Annual Benefit Dinner and Gala. Sponsor: OPAL Community Land Trust

July

Tuesday, July 3. Deer Harbor Fireworks.

Wednesday, July 4. Eastsound Fireworks. Sponsor: Orcas Island Chamber of Commerce

Saturday, July 7. Orcas Community Parade. Sponsor: Orcas Island Chamber of Commerce

Saturday, July 7. Annual Salmon Dinner. Sponsor: Orcas Island Lions Club

Saturday, July 21. Olga Daze Celebration; 10am – 3pm. Sponsor: Olga Community Club

Saturday, July 28. 8th Annual Cider & Mead Festival in Eastsound on the Village Green; 11 am – 4 pm. Orcas Island Cider & Mead Festival

Saturday, July 28. Market Day.  Sponsor: Emmanuel Episcopal Church; 10 am – 3 pm

August

Thursday – Sunday, August 1 – 6. Doe Bay Fest. Location: Doe Bay Resort

Friday through Saturday, August 3-18. Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival. Sponsor: Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival

Saturday-Monday, August 4-6. Orcas Fly-In. Sponsor: EAA Chapter 937

Saturday, August 4. Classic Car Show; 10 am – 2 pm

Friday-Sunday, August 10-12. Orcas Island Artists’ Studio Tour. Location: Various studios on Orcas. Studio Tour Website

Saturday, August 11. Library Fair. Sponsor: Orcas Island Public Library

Thursday-Sunday, August 30-September 2. Orcas Island Jazz Festival

September

September (TBA).  Steve Braun Memorial Triathlon. Sponsor: Friends of Moran

September(TBA). Deer Harbor Wooden Boat Rendezvous. Sponsor: Wooden Boat Society of the San Juans

October

October (TBA) – Orcas Island Farm Tour. Location: Various farms on Orcas, 9 am – 7 pm. Website & Info.

Friday-Monday, October 4-8. Orcas Island Film Festival. Location: Various venues on Orcas. Orcas Island Film Fest

Saturdays, October 7 through November. Indoor Farmers’ Market for the fall at Odd Fellows Hall; Saturdays, 11 am – 2 pm. Orcas Island Farmers Market

October (TBA). Camp Orkila Fall Festival & Haunted Hay Ride. Camp Orkila, 1 pm – 5:30 pm. View 2017 Event.

November

Saturday, November 10. Hops on the Rock: Orcas Island Beer Fest. 11 am – 5 pm. Location: Prune Alley, Eastsound. Hops On The Rocks

Saturday-Sunday, November 10-11. Round the County Sailboat Races. Sponsor: Round the County

Friday, November 23. Eastsound Art Walk from 12 noon to 4 pm. Sponsor: Orcas Island Chamber of Commerce.

November (TBA). Holiday Festival of Arts at the Orcas Senior Center; 10:00 am – 4:00 pm. Sponsor: Orcas Senior Center

December

Friday, December 7. Eastsound Holiday Celebration and Tree Lighting. 3 pm – 5 pm. Sponsor: Orcas Island Chamber of Commerce

December (TBA). Celtic Christmas; 7:00 pm at Orcas Island Community Church

December (TBA). Library Holiday Tea; 12:00 noon – 3:00 pm. Sponsor: Friends of the Library

December (TBA). Artisans’ Faire. Location: Odd Fellows Hall. Artisan’s Faire

December (TBA). Orcas Choral Society Holiday Concert. Orcas Center. View Event

December (TBA). Lions Santa Ship at Orcas Ferry Landing, 11:00 a.m. – 1 p.m.

January

Monday, January 1. Polar Bear Plunge at Cascade Lake. Sponsor: Orcas Island Rowing Association

Saturday, January 27. Orcas Island 25k Race at Moran State Park. Sponsor: Rainshadow Running

February

Saturday, February 3. Orcas Island 50k Race at Moran State Park. Sponsor: Rainshadow Running

Saturdays, February 10 & 17. Cooking Classes with Christina Orchid. Red Rabbit Farm

Friday-Saturday, February 9 & 10. Orcas Island 100 mile race at Moran State Park. Sponsor: Rainshadow Running

March

Sunday, March 4 (3:00 pm), MAG Concert in the Old Gym. Sponsor: Music Advocacy Group (Recurs on 1st Sunday in March)

Saturday, March 10 (10:00 am -2:00 pm), Fidelis Flea Market in West Sound Community Club

Saturday, March 10 (10 am – 3 pm), Friends of the Library Book Sale. Sponsor: Friends of the Library

Friday-Sunday, March 16-17 . San Juan Islands Agricultural Summit.  Click here for information.